ACT appoints OHS Council

Monday, 26 November, 2007

Minister for Industrial Relations Andrew Barr has announced the appointment of a new Occupational Health and Safety Council.

The Council will be chaired by Don McCallum, who has a long and distinguished career in industrial relations. He currently represents the ACT public sector employers on the Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Council (SRCC).

“This 13-member council, which includes representatives of employees and employers, plays a central role in connecting the ACT government to the community in relation to work safety and workers compensation.”

Mr Barr said the Council has been integral in the ongoing review and ammendments of the OHS Act — and subsequently the framework of the new OHS Act, to be introduced into the Legislative Assembly in 2008.

Members representing employees

Kim Sattler, UnionsACT

Sarah Schoonwater, CFMEU

Matthew McCann, Electrical Trades Union

Jason Jennings, Creative Safety Initiatives

Members representing employers

Marion Whalan, Chamber of Commerce

Frank Gillingham, Master Builders Association

David Segrott, Canberra Business Council

Catherine Hudson, Deputy Chief Executive, Chief Ministers Department

Ministerial appointees

Don McCallum, Chair

Liesl Centenera, Director Office of Industrial Relations, Chief Ministers Department

Brett Phillips, Executive Director, Office of Regulatory Services

OHS Commissioner

Steven Hart, Acting OHS Commissioner, Deputy Chair

Related News

Forklift-induced injury leads to $90,000 fine

Queensland poultry processor Gemfire has been fined $90,000 after a worker was run over by a...

Electric shock sparks $250,000 fine

A Queensland billboard company has been fined $250,000 after a worker received an electric shock...

Workers urged to take care during wet weather

WorkSafe Victoria is urging construction and farm workers to take extra safety precautions as wet...

  • All content Copyright © 2019 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd