SafeWork NSW Awards finalists announced

Monday, 14 October, 2019

SafeWork NSW Awards finalists announced

A coal services provider and southern New South Wales (NSW) hospital are among the finalists named in this year’s SafeWork NSW Awards. The awards — to be drawn on 31 October — recognise businesses and individuals with the “most outstanding workplace health and safety standards and return to work outcomes” in the state, according to NSW Minister for Better Regulation Kevin Anderson. Currently, 16 finalists are vying for awards across eight categories, selected from 139 entrants.

“Far too often people come to SafeWork after a serious incident or other accident happens in their workplaces — I am pleased to see so many entries where safety at work and best-practice return to work solutions are acknowledged,” Anderson said. “From big businesses to individuals, these awards acknowledge the commendable work we see in categories including ‘Excellence in Recovery at Work’, ‘Best Solution to High Risk Work Health and Safety Issue’, as well as acknowledging ‘Excellence in Return to Work’ for both businesses and individuals.”

In particular, SafeWork NSW highlighted Port Waratah Coal Services’ solution to marine surveyors’ risk of falling from height into the sea while checking draught marks on ships. After collaborating internally and with industry peers, the company developed a technology-based system that allowed surveyors to check draught marks from the ship’s deck — eliminating the risk. The regulator also referenced Bega Hospital’s innovative ‘Code Black — empowering staff’ program, which has equipped staff with the training, knowledge and practical skills to confidently manage violent or aggressive situations.

Anderson said the awards coincided with Safe Work Month and encouraged employers and workers to think about how they can improve their workplace’s safety culture. “Safe Work Month is an opportunity for every manager in NSW to have a conversation with their employees about how their workplace could be operating in a safer way,” Anderson said.

The SafeWork Award finalists include these businesses:

  • A. G. Coombs Group;
  • TEAM UOW — Desert Rose University of Wollongong;
  • Care South;
  • Diona;
  • The Reject Shop and Griffith University;
  • Insite Remediation Services;
  • John Holland Group;
  • Port Waratah Coal Services;
  • Southern NSW Local Health District, Bega Valley Health Service; and
  • Sydney Metro.

Individuals named for an award include:

  • Scott Atkinson;
  • Simon Schmitzer;
  • John Harris, National HSEQ Manager, Liberty Industrial;
  • Christopher Mann, Fire Safety and Security Manager, HealthShare NSW — Tamworth Hospital;
  • Nathan Owens, the Health Safety Environment Quality Manager for Eden Brae Homes; and
  • Shan Ruprai, Group Compliance Executive (WHSEQR), COLAS Australia Group.

Image credit: ©

Related News

Mine death leads to 38 charges and $37.1m in possible penalties

Bootu Creek mine operator OM (Manganese) and its chief operating officer are facing 38 charges...

WA publishes new Work Health and Safety Act information online

Information about Western Australia's new Work Health and Safety Act has been published...

NSW Resources Regulator provides COVID-19 advice for mine workers

The NSW Resources Regulator has published updated information for mine operators, regarding the...

  • All content Copyright © 2021 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd