Safe Work Awards announced

Thursday, 01 May, 2008

The 2007 national Safe Work Australia Awards were presented to the winners in an evening ceremony held at Parliament House on Wednesday 28 April 2008.

The awards were presented by the Australian Safety and Compensation Council (ASCC) chairman, Mr Bill Scales and the Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations, Julia Gillard.

Thirty finalists from across Australia competed for this year’s awards, covering a broad range of industry types from both the public and the private sector.

“The Safe Work Australia Awards provide recognition to Australia’s OHS champions who are committed to making Australian workplaces safer,” said Scales.

“I would like to extend my sincere congratulations and thanks to all the finalists. All displayed outstanding dedication to improving safety in the workplace; this should be applauded.”

Finalists for each of the five award categories were winners of OHS awards in their state or territory jurisdiction. An independent judging panel considered each finalist’s award submission before deciding on a final winner.

Scales said the judging panel was very impressed with the finalists’ dedication and commitment to workplace safety and their innovative and hands-on approach.

The award winners can be viewed at the ASCC website.


Related News

Victoria suffers three worker deaths in "horror" week

Three workers have died in separate incidents across Victoria in what the state's safety...

Industrial gas supplier fined $200K following worker death

A company with ties to an international entity specialising in the manufacture and supply of...

SA worker fined $8K for unlicensed asbestos removal

A South Australian man has been fined $8100 plus costs for unlicensed asbestos removal, despite a...

  • All content Copyright © 2019 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd