Nominations open for 2023 WorkSafe Awards

Wednesday, 17 May, 2023

Nominations open for 2023 WorkSafe Awards

Businesses and individuals who have gone above and beyond to improve workplace health and safety have been urged to share their stories as part of this year’s WorkSafe Awards. Now in their 34th year, nominations are open for the 2023 awards, which celebrate and honour the achievements of those who have made a significant contribution to reducing workplace harm and/or improving outcomes for injured workers.

A key focus of the awards is to recognise the efforts of employers who have implemented leading return-to-work practices, as well as injured workers who have overcome barriers in their quest to return to work. The Commitment to Workplace Health and Safety on a Farm category forms part of WorkSafe’s efforts to tackle the overrepresentation of the agricultural industry in workplace deaths and injuries. The Health and Safety Representative of the Year category will recognise the work of health and safety representatives.

WorkSafe Chief Executive Colin Radford said the awards are an important opportunity for Victorian-based employers and workers to showcase their workplace safety efforts and share best-practice solutions to complex health and safety risks. Radford encouraged all businesses, large and small, and individuals regardless of the industry they work in, to nominate.

“The WorkSafe Awards has a long history of celebrating those who put workplace health and safety at the top of their agenda. In addition to hearing the inspirational stories of finalists, one of the most satisfying aspects of last year’s awards was the diverse range of industries that were represented, including construction, education, health, maritime, retail, racing and agriculture,” Radford said.

Nominations are open to all Victorian-based employers and workers, and entrants can nominate themselves or another person. Entries close 23 June 2023 with the winners announced in February 2024.

The categories for this year’s awards are: Commitment to Prevention of Mental Injury in the Workplace; Commitment to Workplace Health and Safety on a Farm; Health and Safety Representative of the Year; Leading Return to Work Practice; OHS Leadership/Achievement; Worker Return to Work Achievement Award; and Workplace Health and Safety Solution of the Year.

For more information or to make a nomination, click here.

Image credit:

Related News

Partnership to deliver safer, more efficient drone flights

Drone management software provider Unleash live has partnered with UTM solutions provider...

Perth mechanic fined for employment record breaches

A mechanic has been fined for failing to keep a record of employee start and finish times and for...

R U OK? launches resources for young apprentices, trainees

R U OK? has released free resources to empower apprentices and trainees with the knowledge to...

  • All content Copyright © 2023 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd