Nominations open for 2021 WorkSafe Awards

Friday, 09 April, 2021

Nominations open for 2021 WorkSafe Awards

Nominations are open for the 2021 WorkSafe Awards, which will highlight the achievements of individuals, teams or organisations that reduce workplace harm. Victorian workplaces are encouraged to share their stories and be celebrated for making a positive difference to workplace safety. All employers and workers based in Victoria are eligible for the awards, and people can nominate themselves or another person before entries close on Friday, 7 May.

The awards focus on innovative inventions, workplace safety solutions, OHS leadership, and initiatives that help injured employees return to work and health. The WorkSafe Awards have seven categories, including a new category added this year to recognise individuals and businesses that have made a significant difference to health and safety on farms, which continue to be among Victoria’s most dangerous places to work.

The categories for this year’s WorkSafe Awards include Health and Safety Representative of the Year, Workplace Health and Safety Solution of the Year, Worker Return to Work Achievement, Leading Return to Work Practice, OHS Leadership/Achievement, Commitment to Prevention of Mental Injury in the Workplace, and Commitment to Workplace Health and Safety on a Farm.

WorkSafe Victoria Chief Executive Colin Radford said the awards, which had to be cancelled in 2020 due to COVID-19, are an opportunity to showcase the most outstanding efforts to champion health and safety in the workplace.

“After such a difficult year, it’s especially pleasing to be able to honour those Victorians developing new solutions to prevent workplace injuries and improve outcomes for injured workers,” said Radford.

WorkSafe Victoria will be contacting entrants from last year and will work with them to resubmit their entries for this year. On top of the recognition, the winner in each category will receive $2000.

“If you know an individual or organisation with an inspiring or innovative safety story to tell, please encourage them to share their achievements so we can recognise their efforts and continue to make workplaces safer for everyone,” said Radford.

The winners will be revealed in October during WorkSafe Victoria’s annual Health and Safety Month. Entries can be submitted via the WorkSafe Awards website.

Image credit: ©

Related News

WHSS launches Cleaning & Hygiene Zone

The Workplace Health and Safety Show has launched the Cleaning & Hygiene Zone, a precinct in...

Suicide prevention program launched for construction industry

The OzHelp Foundation has launched a program that builds on mental health and wellbeing...

Work Health and Safety Excellence Awards nominations open

Nominations have opened for the 2023 Work Health and Safety Excellence Awards in Western Australia.

  • All content Copyright © 2023 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd