Nominations close soon for 2022 WorkSafe Awards

Tuesday, 12 July, 2022

Nominations close soon for 2022 WorkSafe Awards

Victorian workplaces with a positive health and safety story are encouraged to submit their nominations for the 2022 WorkSafe Awards before the deadline on 15 July. The awards recognise excellence in improving workplace safety across seven categories, one of which is the Commitment to Prevention of Mental Injury in the Workplace. Western Health received the award in 2021 for its Predict, Prevent, Priority: Safety Strategy, which aims to address unsafe cultural practices to reduce workplace violence and aggression and mental injury.

Western Health Clinical Nurse Sharon Collard said the award helped support a culture change in the healthcare industry. “Traditionally, health professionals have been conditioned to put their own safety last. Being rewarded for our strategy sends a message to others in the healthcare industry that making change to prioritise staff safety is not only the right thing to do but is achievable,” said Collard.

WorkSafe Chief Executive Officer Colin Radford said preventing workplace mental injuries is one of WorkSafe’s key priorities, as emphasised in its 2021–24 Mental Health Strategy.

“We spend roughly a third of our lives at work, so it’s crucial that employers are doing all they can to provide a safe, supportive and positive environment. The opening of this year’s awards has already created interest from a broad range of workplaces, but there is still time to enter. If you know anyone with an inspiring safety or return to work story, encourage them to apply so we can recognise their efforts in ensuring Victoria remains one of the safest places in the world to work,” said Radford.

Nominations are open to all Victorian-based employers and workers, and entrants can nominate themselves or another person. The winners will be announced in February 2023; along with recognition, each winner will receive a $2000 cash prize. Entries can be submitted here.

The categories for this year’s awards are:

  • Health and Safety Representative of the Year
  • Commitment to Workplace Health and Safety on a Farm
  • Workplace Health and Safety Solution of the Year
  • Commitment to Prevention of Mental Injury in the Workplace
  • OHS Leadership/Achievement
  • Leading Return to Work Practice
  • Worker Return to Work Achievement Award.

Image credit: ©

Related News

New compliance and enforcement tool rolls out

SafeWork SA is embedding cautions into its suite of compliance and enforcement tools to help...

Report reveals the cost of workplace injury, illness in Australia

Research conducted by Monash University has found that between 2012 and 2017, the equivalent of...

SWA seeks crane licensing feedback

The public have been given an opportunity to provide feedback on six Safe Work Australia...

  • All content Copyright © 2024 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd