Submissions open for Hunter Safety Awards

Tuesday, 29 August, 2023

Submissions open for Hunter Safety Awards

The Hunter Safety Awards have returned for the eighth year, with applications for the 2024 awards officially open. The event recognises businesses and individuals within the region who go above and beyond safety requirements to demonstrate best-practice and innovative approaches to workplace health and safety.

The importance of workplace health and safety in the Hunter region was emphasised this year, following a fatal workplace accident on the site of the John Hunter Hospital redevelopment in Newcastle. Following an incident at the worksite adjacent to the hospital, emergency services were summoned when a 20-year-old man became trapped. NSW Ambulance paramedics treated the man before transferring him to John Hunter Hospital in a critical condition, but unfortunately, he later succumbed to his injuries. Sarah-Jane Dunford, founder of the Hunter Safety Awards, spoke about the accident and the importance of raising awareness.

“Accidents at the workplace are more common than we think, and sometimes result in horrific outcomes, including the recent incident at the new John Hunter Hospital redevelopment site. Our thoughts are with the man’s family and friends and it is a timely reminder as to why we’re dedicated to safety and providing a platform for those who have made safety their number one priority,” Dunford said.

Eligible local businesses and individuals are invited to submit their applications, demonstrating how they have integrated work, health and safety into their core business practices. Each finalist will automatically be considered for the WHS Business of the Year award, recognising ongoing commitment to safety in their award applications and day-to-day operations. The Hunter Safety Awards offer 13 categories, each recognising excellence in various aspects of WHS.

The event will be held on Friday, 15 March 2024 at the Newcastle Exhibition Centre.

Submissions for the awards are open, and all entries must be submitted by 5.00 pm on Monday, 13 November 2023. The criteria can be found here.

Image credit:

Related News

Mechanic fined after fatigue-related fatal car crash

A Victorian mechanic has been convicted and fined $115,000 following the death of a roadside...

WorkSpace Week prioritises workers most at risk of spinal injury

WorkSpace Week is an annual national campaign that helps prevent work-related musculoskeletal...

Lift company enters $240,000 enforceable undertaking

A Victorian lift company will spend more than $240,000 to improve health and safety outcomes,...

  • All content Copyright © 2023 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd